Clutch Staying engaged

This is the place to get help with technical matters concerning your M151 jeep

Moderators: rickf, raymond, Mr. Recovery

Merc
civilian

Clutch Staying engaged

Unread post by Merc » September 4th, 2010, 9:19 pm

I have a 1970 M151a2. Bear with me because I am quite new to engine's let alone Mutt's. I recently had to get my starter fixed because it wasn't pushing forward but would spin. Got that done and now the clutch is stuck. It starts up great and runs great. You can move the shifter into gear and out of gear just like if you were holding down the clutch but I am not. The clutch pedal has almost no pressure to it (the only pressure probably comes from the spring on the outside of the power pack). Is there something silly that I have missed? As for the starter all I did was take it off and put it on. Could it have done something? I searched and searched for a solution but couldn't find it. I have a feeling I am going to have to drop the tranny...

Pictures of the mutt
http://www.flickr.com/photos/35531767@N07/3424484517/

199th mp
Major
Major

Re: Clutch Staying engaged

Unread post by 199th mp » September 4th, 2010, 10:13 pm

at the end of the clutch actuator rod, there is a right angle bend that goes into a hole on the clutch lever, which is part of the clutch shaft assembly--is the rod still in the hole? i would give the linkage a good look, since removing the starter should not have affected the clutch. rickf is the real expert on these, he'll be back next week.

Fil Bonica
Brigadier General
Brigadier General

Unread post by Fil Bonica » September 4th, 2010, 10:53 pm

If you peek at the clutch actuation assembly and follow it around you may find that something is broken , disconnected or worse just frozen together. Keep in mind the lever inside the bell housing that actuates the springs on the pressure plate may have come disconnected from its pivot.